Return to Headlines

Counselors receive national awards


The American School Counselor Association Conference was held in Las Vegas, Nevada July 11-15, 2021.  During this conference, the RAMP (Recognized ASCA Model Program) Awards Gala was held on Tuesday evening, July 13.  Five of our schools were recognized during this Awards Gala:  Central Baldwin Middle School, Daphne Elementary School, Daphne East Elementary School, Magnolia Elementary School, and Silverhill Elementary School. 


Additionally, the three schools who received the 2020 RAMP Award were also in attendance and recognized during the Awards Gala since last year’s ASCA Conference was a virtual one.  The 2020 RAMP schools recognized included Fairhope Elementary School (now Fairhope West Elementary School), Fairhope Intermediate School (now Fairhope East Elementary School), and Foley Middle School. 

The achievement of this RAMP Award, which is the highest honor a school counseling program can receive in the nation, signifies that these school counselors have successfully aligned their school counseling programs to the ASCA National Model.  More specifically, this means that their programs are not only based on data-informed decision making, but that they also include a developmentally appropriate curriculum that is focused on the attitudes and essential skills that all students need for post-secondary readiness and success. Additionally, their school counseling programs help to close the achievement and opportunity gaps for students, which results in improved achievement, attendance, and/or discipline for students. 

Congratulations are extended to these school counselors at each of the recognized schools:

Central Baldwin Middle School, Ms. Lana Mallett

Daphne Elementary School, Mrs. Rebecca Johnson

Daphne East Elementary School, Mrs. Keri Jones and Mrs. Kelley Morris

Fairhope East Elementary School, Mrs. Kenita Bonner-Callwood and Mrs. Beth Ann Mills

Fairhope West Elementary School,  Mrs. Kate Wellborn and Mrs. Dianna Wolchina

Foley Middle School, Mrs. Coryn Ebert and Mrs. Jennifer Kukes

Magnolia Elementary School,  Mrs. Tomica Bradley-Wiggins

Silverhill Elementary School, Mrs. Shamika Bramble