Return to Headlines

FHS juniors chosen for book awards from Harvard, University of Virginia, and Tulane.

Book A


To introduce talented young people to the opportunities available at Harvard, The Harvard Book Award is awarded to the junior who displays excellence in scholarship and high character, combined with achievement in other nonacademic areas.  This year’s recipient is Molly Hagood.  

Established by the University of Virginia, the Jefferson Book Award was established to recognize outstanding high school students who best represents the Jeffersonian ideals of scholarship, leadership and citizenship.  This year’s recipient is Enley McCollum.

The Tulane Book Award recognizes one junior who embodies Tulane’s motto of “Not for one’s self, but for one’s own”.  This award is given in recognition of excellence in academics, leadership and public service.  This year’s recipient is Stephen Laraway.


These students will be recognized at the senior awards night on May 5th.  Congratulations!