Return to Headlines



Foley High School, the City of Foley and the South Baldwin Chamber of Commerce hosted the 1Roar Foley VEX Robotics Tournament at the Foley Sports Tourism Event Center this past Saturday, December 15th. Auburn’s SCORE (Robotics Education) came down and ran tournament logistics. Thirty-two teams from Alabama participated in both events. Summerdale School’s Team 62490B won first place along with Foley Middle School’s Team 27716D (first place in pairs) in the VEX IQ tournament. Foley High School Team 8293E along with BrewBaker Tech Magnet High School from Montgomery won the first place, Tournament Champions Awards in the VEX VRC tournament. Foley High School’s Team 8293G won the highest award, the Excellence Award. All teams mentioned qualified and earned a slot in the Alabama VEX Robotics Championship held in March. Currently Foley High School Teams 8293X and 8293D are the top-ranking solo “Skills” teams, scoring higher than all other teams in Alabama.


Thanks to all of the volunteers; Michael Dunlavy, Alex Sweeney, Rich Caldwell, AJ Cabana, Rob Klein, Nick Gaston, Will Rice and Foley ROTC, IED and Robotics students. We would also like to thank the City of Foley and the Foley Sports Tourism Event Center for hosting the facility, the South Baldwin Chamber of Commerce and Gale Croft for organizing the momentum behind education, stem and robotics, our supporters, PNC Foundation, Ascend Materials, Riviera Utilities, Centennial Bank, National Bank of Commerce and Vulcan.



Foley Middle School winner:

27716D -  Edison Dao, Aurora Hall


Summerdale School winner:

62490B - Alex Resmondo, McKane Havard, Lake Peterson, Garrett Petersen


Schools that participated; Foley Elementary, Foley Intermediate, Foley Middle School, Foley High School, Gulf Shores Middle, Summerdale School, Central Baldwin Middle, Mountain Brook Junior High, Enterprise High School, Brewbaker Tech Magnet High School, Shades Valley Tech Academy


Foley High School Lion Pride Robotics Competition Teams:

8293A – Matt and Zach Van Welzen, Cole Smith, Colby Thompson, Andrew Little

8293B – Amber Burke, Madelyn Repzynski, Kameron Prim, Seth Kollars, Mason Finch

8293C – Josh Fields, Tristan Keller, Nick Hudson, Jon Yarbrough

8293D – Devin Spivey, Alex Miller, Colby Thompson

8293E – Grayson Mitchell, Brayden Buchard, Paul Catlin

8293F – Robert Creech, Josiah Golden, Nishit Patel, Kailee Howard

8293G- Juan Nava-Cerro, Elian Galvez-Gonzalez, Raymond Resendiz, Joseph Tucker

8293X – Kyle Kovalchick, Ethan Pickering


(Thomas Thorjusen Dec. 17th 2018)